Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Ophthalmology

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Ophthalmology

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Ophthalmology, The Eye Clinic at Pusat Perubatan UKM (PPUKM) began its operations in 1997 at the opening of PPUKM, a fully equipped major tertiary referral hospital and main teaching hospital for Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), in Kuala Lumpur city, our nation’s capital. The Eye Clinic, also known as UKM Eye Centre, had its humble beginnings in 1978  at the Kuala Lumpur General Hospital where the Faculty of Medicine, UKM, founded on 30 May 1972, conducted its clinical teaching. The founder and first head of department is Dato Dr Haji Mohamed Noor bin Marahakim. The University celebrated its 45th anniversary in 2010.

Since then, the Ophthalmology unit has produced over 170 specialists in ophthalmology for the nation and trained many local doctors in Ophthalmology in their undergraduate years. The Ophthalmology department is the first local university to produce ophthalmologists (eye specialists) in Malaysia through the Masters of Surgery in Ophthalmology postgraduate programme commencing in 1984. UKM  is now one of 3 universities comprising the Malaysian Universities Conjoint Committee of Ophthalmology (MUCCO). The current head of department (April 2010- 2013) is Associate Professor Dr Mae-Lynn Catherine Bastion and the department has over 15 lecturers including 3 on PhD programmes overseas and consultants representing the major Ophthalmic subspecialties.


We are committed to make the Department of Ophthalmology an Ophthalmology centre of excellence in patient care with skilled workers and the latest tools.


We strive to become the best training centre for undergraduates, postgraduates, and higher specialist training in the clinical field and the field of Ophthalmology science.


We aspire to become the most advanced centre in the field of Visual Science and Clinical Ophthalmology research.


To become the best Eye Centre in Malaysia based on patient care, teaching and research.


The Department of Ophtalmology
9th Floor, Clinical Block,
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre,
Jalan Yaacob Latif, Bandar Tun Razak,
56000 Cheras,
Kuala Lumpur.

Telephone: +603-91455555 ext 5891/5892 (from 8.00am to 12.30pm & 2.00pm to 5.00pm)
Facsimile: +603-91737836