List of All Universities In Malaysia

By | May 15, 2017

List of All Universities In Malaysia

There are 20 public universities currently in Malaysia. These Universities fall under different categories and they are mandated to operate in their own right. Out of the 20 public universities in Malaysia, 5 of them are fully research institutions. 43 private universities are registered and are running different degree and non-degree programmes in Malaysia. There are 31 university colleges and nine foreign university branch campuses too scattered all over the country.
Public universities can be divided into five research universities, 11 comprehensive universities and four specialised technical universities. The five public universities that have been designated as research universities are Universiti Malaya, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Universiti Sains Malaysia and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia. USM has also been awarded Apex university status. The four universities under the Malaysian Technical University Network (MTUN) are UTHM, UTeM, UMP and UniMAP.
Check the full list of public, private, university colleges and foreign universities in Malaysia!

Public Universities in Malaysia

Currently, there are 20 public universities in Malaysia. The full list of the public universities in Malaysia are listed below

1 Universiti Malaya (UM) Kuala Lumpur
2 Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) Selangor
3 Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) Penang
4 Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) Johor
5 Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) Selangor
6 Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) Selangor
7 Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris (UPSI) Perak
8 Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM) Kedah
9 Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS) Sarawak
10 Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) Sabah
11 Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia (UIAM) Selangor
12 Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM) Negeri Sembilan
13 Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT) Terengganu
14 Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM) Johor
15 Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM) Melaka
16 Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP) Pahang
17 Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Perlis
18 Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA) Terengganu
19 Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (UMK) Kelantan
20 Universiti Pertahanan Nasional Malaysia, (UPNM) Kuala Lumpur

Private Universities in Malaysia

A total of 43 Universities have been licensed by the ministry to operate and award various degrees in Malaysia. Some of these private universities have more than one campuses and some operate a curriculum which is very unique to their universiti alone.
Check out the list of all the 43 Private universities in Malaysia below

1 Multimedia University (MMU), Cyberjaya Melaka
(Three campuses: Cyberjaya campus, Melaka campus and Johor campus)
2 Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) Putrajaya / Pahang
(Two campuses: Kajang campus and Bandar Muadzam Shah branch campus)
3 Universiti Tun Abdul Razak (UniRAZAK) Selangor
4 Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP) Selangor
5 International Medical University (IMU) Kuala Lumpur
(KL campus and Clinical school in Seremban)
6 Universiti Selangor (UNISEL) Selangor
(Two campuses: Shah Alam campus and Bestari Jaya campus)
7 Open University Malaysia (OUM) Kuala Lumpur
8 Malaysia University of Science & Technology (MUST) Selangor
9 AIMST University Kedah
10 Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) Selangor / Perak
(Two campuses: Bandar Sungai Long campus in Kajang, Selangor; and Perak campus)
11 Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL) 11 campuses located in Kuala Lumpur and around the country
12 Wawasan Open University Penang
13 Albukhary International University Kedah
14 Al-Madinah International University (MEDIU) Selangor
15 International Centre for Education in Islamic Finance (INCEIF) Kuala Lumpur
16 Limkokwing University of Creative Technology Putrajaya
17 Management and Science University (MSU) Selangor
18 Asia e University (AeU) Kuala Lumpur
19 UCSI University Kuala Lumpur
(Three campuses: Kuala Lumpur campus, Terengganu campus and Sarawak campus)
20 Quest International University Perak Perak
21 INTI International University (IIU) Negeri Sembilan
22 Taylor’s University Selangor
23 Sunway University Selangor
24 Manipal International University Negeri Sembilan
25 Perdana University Selangor
26 HELP University Kuala Lumpur
27 UNITAR International University Selangor
28 Raffles University Iskandar (RUI) Johor
29 Malaysia Institute of Supply Chain Innovation (MISI) Selangor
30 Nilai University Negeri Sembilan
31 SEGi University Selangor
32 Asia Pacific University of Technology and Innovation (APU) Kuala Lumpur
33 Binary University of Management and Entrepreneurship Selangor
34 Infrastructure University Kuala Lumpur (IUKL) Selangor
35 Asia Metropolitan University Selangor
36 Putra Business School Selangor
37 Global NXT University Kuala Lumpur
38 MAHSA University Selangor
39 International University of Malaya-Wales Kuala Lumpur
40 University Malaysia of Computer Science and Engineering Putrajaya
41 Universiti Islam Malaysia, Cyberjaya Selangor
42 DRB-HICOM University of Automotive Malaysia Pahang
43 Asia School of Business Kuala Lumpur


Private University Colleges in Malaysia

The private universities in Malaysia numbered up to 31 in number. Check out the list of all private university Colleges in Malaysia

1 International University College of Technology Twintech (IUCTT)
North Borneo University College, Sabah (formerly known as International University College of Technology Twintech, Sabah campus)
Kuala Lumpur / Kelantan / Sabah
2 Selangor International Islamic University College (SIUC) Selangor
3 Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences (CUCMS) Selangor
4 INSANIAH University College Kedah
(Two campuses: Alor Setar and Baling, Kedah)
5 Kuala Lumpur Metropolitan University College (KLMUC) Kuala Lumpur
6 TATI University College Terengganu
7 Berjaya University College of Hospitality Kuala Lumpur
8 Masterskill University College of Health Sciences Johor
9 International University College of Arts and Science Selangor
10 Melaka Islamic University College Melaka
11 City University College of Science and Technology Selangor
12 Linton University College Negeri Sembilan
13 KDU University College Selangor
14 Shahputra University College Pahang
15 KPJ Healthcare University College Negeri Sembilan
16 Lincoln University College Selangor
17 Southern University College Johor
18 Bestari University College Terengganu
19 Sultan Azlan Shan Islamic University College Perak
20 Vinayaka Mission International University College Penang
21 University College of Technology Sarawak Sarawak
22 Tunku Abdul Rahman University College Kuala Lumpur
(Four campuses: KL, Penang, Johor, Perak)
23 Islamic University College of Science & Technology Kelantan
24 Geomatika University College Kuala Lumpur
25 Islamic Unversity College of Perlis (KUIPs) Perlis
26 University College Sabah Foundation (UCSF) Sabah
27 Kolej Universiti Agrosains Malaysia Melaka
28 Kolej Universiti Islam Pahang Sultan Ahmad Shah Pahang
29 Kolej Universiti Poly-Tech MARA Kuala Lumpur
30 KDU University College Penang
31 First City University College Selangor


Foreign University Branch Campuses in Malaysia

Here are the foreign universities with various campuses in Malaysia. The list of Foreign universities with campuses in Malaysia are 9 in number

1 Monash University Malaysia Selangor Australia
2 Curtin University, Sarawak  Malaysia Sarawak Australia
3 The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus
(Two campuses: Selangor and KL)
Kuala Lumpur United Kingdom
4 Swinburne University of Technology, Sarawak Campus Sarawak Australia
5 Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia Johor United Kingdom
6 University of Southampton Malaysia Campus Johor United Kingdom
7 Heriot-Watt University Malaysia Putrajaya United Kingdom
8 University of Reading Malaysia Johor United Kingdom
9 Xiamen University Malaysia Campus Sepang, Selangor China