Universiti Teknologi Mara Kedah

By | July 16, 2018

Universiti Teknologi Mara Kedah

Universiti Teknologi Mara Kedah, Kedah Malay pronunciation: [kəˈdɑh] , also known by its honorific Darul Aman or “Abode of Peace”, is a state of Malaysia, located in the northwestern part of Peninsular Malaysia. The state covers a total area of over 9,000 km², and it consists of the mainland and Langkawi. The mainland has a relatively flat terrain, which is used to grow rice. Langkawi is an archipelago of islands, most of which are uninhabited. Kedah was called Kadaram (Tamil: கடாரம்; kadāram) by ancient and medieval Tamil people,Kataha/Kalahbar(Arab:قتح/قلحبر) and Syburi (Thai: ไทรบุรี; RTGS: Sai Buri) by the Siamese when it was under their influence. To the north, Kedah borders the state of Perlis and shares an international boundary with the Songkhla and Yala provinces of Thailand. It borders the states of Perak to the south and Penang to the southwest. The state’s capital is Alor Setar and the royal seat is in Anak Bukit. Other major towns include Sungai Petani, and Kulim on the mainland, and Kuah on Langkawi.
UiTM Kedah was officiated on 1st October 1997 by YB Tun Daim Zainuddin, the Finance Minister. It started its first operation in November 1997 with 162 students and 25 administrative staff. In consistent with the government’s objective and aspiration to develop the skills of Bumiputra in various fields, the university functions as a catalyst in developing the economic and education of the locals specifically in the state of Kedah and northern area. The establishment of this campus is based on the main plan which considers the maximum capacity of 7000 students.
Courses Offered
The campus started off in November 1997 with 4 programmes at Diploma levels :
• Diploma in Accountancy
• Diploma in Public Administration
• Diploma in Business Studies
• Diploma in Banking Studies
Today, UiTM Kedah offers both Diploma and Degree courses across 7 faculties
• Faculty of Administrative Science and Policy Studies
• Faculty of Accounting
• Faculty of Art and Design
• Faculty of Computer and Mathematical Sciences
• Faculty of Business Management
• Faculty of Information Management
• Faculty of Law

To establish UiTM as a premier university of outstanding scholarship and academic excellence capable of providing leadership to Bumiputeras’ dynamic involvement in all professional fields of world-class standards in order to produce globally competitive graduates of sound ethical standing.
To enhance the knowledge and expertise of Bumiputeras in all fields of study through professional programmes, research work and community service based on moral values and professional ethics.


Address: 08400 Merbok, Kedah, Malaysia
Phone: +60 4-456 2000