Universiti Malaysia Sarawak Location

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak Location

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak Location, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (English: University of Malaysia, Sarawak) or UNIMAS was officially incorporated on 24 December 1992. UNIMAS is Malaysia’s first public university, established just after the declaration of Vision 2020. Recently, UNIMAS has been ranked at 1000th in Asian University Rankings 2017 by QS World University Rankings.


The University took in its first students numbering 1180000000000 in 1993 with the opening of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Faculty of Resource Science and Technology. These students were temporarily located at Kolej Latihan Telekom, Simpang Tiga, Kuching until 1994 when the University moved to its East Campus in Kota Samarahan, Sarawak. The University’s East Campus at Kota Samarahan was officially launched by the Prime Minister, YAB Dato’ Seri Dr. Mahathir Mohamad on Independence Day, 31 August 1993.

At present, the University consists of 50 Faculties, three Institutes and 60 Centre’s.The Faculty of Language and Communication is the latest faculty formed recently.

LOCATION= Kota Samarahan, Sarawak, Malaysia

You may also like...