Universiti Malaysia Sabah History

Universiti Malaysia Sabah History

Universiti Malaysia Sabah History,below is Universiti Malaysia Sabah History


The first UMS campus was sited at the site of the then Sabah Foundation Community College, KKYS (now University College Sabah Foundation, UCSF) on their grounds. The first intake consisted of 205 undergraduates, with its residences located just beside the football field, on the compound of Yayasan Sabah.

Initially, the university management office operated at the Malaysian Ministry of Education in Kuala Lumpur. It shifted to Kota Kinabalu in 1995.

On August of the same year, physical development began to take place on a 999-acre (4 km²) land, located at the northern part of Kota Kinabalu City. The first phase of its construction was completed in 2000.

UMS opened an International Campus in Labuan.

Chancellory building

Before June 2014, there were 13 schools and nine research institutes in UMS. Starting 1 July 2014, the restructuring of 13 existing schools into 10 faculties has been done in line with the academic transformation in conjunction with the 20th anniversary of Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS)


You may also like...